New Antiques

Last week, we went to my husband’s parent’s place to help them cut down some trees from their rental property yard and to pick up some furniture that they were giving us for a housewarming present.

We also took them the leftover drywall from our house build (see the great garage clean-up posts soon to come).  We had a trailer load of drywall (man that stuff if heavy) and we had to stop on the road as, of course, it started to sprinkle, and, of course, we hadn’t put the tarp over it.  Oh well.  I had a mountain view while I waited.

It was a lot of work for the husband and his brother- running the chainsaw and jackhammer (also doing driveway work).  Here it is lunch time.

Our son riding his bike through the destruction.  Of course we hauled the bike an hour and a half away when we are also going to be hauling back wood and big pieces of furniture.  Wouldn’t you?

We walked around the neighborhood and found a yard sale where I bought 2 really old books (A Grimm’s Fairy Tales and a Sherlock Holmes) for a buck each.

Finished in town so then we drove out to his parent’s house to load up the furniture.

We also had the trailer behind us loaded up with those trees that were cut down.  Firewood for the winter!

A view of the sky on the way home.

Our treasures back at home waiting to be worked on.

This one is getting ASCP in Country Grey with a stained top.  It’s going to be my sewing/ craft table.

This one is a curio cabinet and is going to sit by our kitchen table as a sideboard.  I’ll now be on the hunt for ironstone to put in it- by the way.  It is getting Old White with a Primer Red inside.

And this one is a bit of a mystery.  My father-in-law says that it is a smoking/ card table.  It does the coolest thing.  Wait until I show you!  I am not allowed to paint it.  Not that I would want to.  It’s beautiful already.  But I do have an idea for a project to put ON it.

A lot of projects to do.  Can’t wait to share.

Have a good weekend everyone!


4 responses to “New Antiques

Leave a comment